The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien


The Silmarillion,” first published in 1977, is a posthumous work by J.R.R. Tolkien that delves into the rich mythology underlying “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings”. The book provides a deep dive into the creation of Middle-Earth and the First Ages of the World, events that precede those told in Tolkien’s other novels. Through a series of interconnected stories, readers are taken on a journey through the ancient history of Middle-Earth, from the creation of the universe by Eru Ilúvatar to the downfall of Morgoth and the rise of Sauron. The narrative is centered around the Silmarils, three magical gems created by the elf Fëanor, whose fate is inextricably linked to the great events in the history of Middle-Earth.


“The Silmarillion” is a fascinating work that showcases Tolkien’s remarkable imagination and attention to detail. Unlike “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings,” which are narrative novels, “The Silmarillion” more closely resembles a collection of ancient texts, myths, and legends, written in a formal, epic style. Each story is filled with heroes and villains, epic battles, heart-wrenching tragedies, and heroic acts of sacrifice, all written with Tolkien’s characteristic poetic beauty.

However, this book is not for the faint-hearted. “The Silmarillion” requires careful and attentive reading due to its density and the wide range of characters, places, and events it describes. But for those willing to embark on this journey, “The Silmarillion” offers a rich reward: a glimpse into Tolkien’s mind and the vastness of his imagined world.


“The Silmarillion” begins with “Ainulindalë”, an account of the creation of the universe through the music of the Ainur, angelic beings created by Eru Ilúvatar. After the creation of the physical world, the most powerful Ainur descend to Earth and become the Valar, who prepare the world for the Children of Ilúvatar: Elves and Men.

The next section, “Quenta Silmarillion“, is the heart of the book, narrating the tale of the Silmarils and the wars fought over them. The Silmarils are three gems created by the elf Fëanor, which contain the light of the Two Trees of Valinor, the original light sources of the world. These gems are coveted by Morgoth, the rebel Valar, who steals them and triggers a series of conflicts that last for ages.

The book concludes with “Akallabêth” and “Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age”, which serve as links between the events in “The Silmarillion” and those in “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings”.



The greatest of the elves, his talent is unsurpassed. His creation, the Silmarils, are the catalyst for many of the stories in The Silmarillion.

Morgoth (Melkor):

The first and most powerful of the Ainur. His fall and rebellion against the other Valar shape many of the story’s conflicts.


The guardians of the world, they are angelic powers that help shape and rule the Earth.

Beren and Lúthien:

Their exploits are told in one of the most famous tales in “The Silmarillion”, a moving story of love and sacrifice.


“The Silmarillion” is a compendium of fictitious mythology, but it is also a deep reflection on universal themes such as power, corruption, redemption, and the fall. Although the work can be challenging due to its density and complexity, the beauty of the language and the depth of the narrative make it irresistible to lovers of fantasy literature.

Acquire Book, The Silmarillion

Opinions about the book

Benjamin Anderson, January 15, 2023: “‘The Silmarillion’ is a challenging but extremely rewarding read. The way Tolkien has created this world with such a level of detail is truly astounding.”

Olivia Johnson 3, 2023: “If you’re a Tolkien fan and want to fully understand the world he created, ‘The Silmarillion’ is essential. It’s a dense book, but it’s also incredibly beautiful and epic.”

Noah Davis, April 1, 2023: “‘The Silmarillion’ has allowed me to appreciate ‘The Lord of the Rings’ in a completely new way. The stories of love, betrayal, and heroism are truly moving.”

Alexander Wright, June 7, 2023: “‘The Silmarillion’ is an impressive book. The stories are epic, the descriptions are vivid, and the language is beautiful. It’s a must-read for any fan of fantasy literature.”