Best fantasy books in 2023

If you’re a fan of reading about paranormal phenomena, here’s a short list of the best fantasy books written in the year 2023.

What do you prefer: dark fantasy? science fiction? historical fantasy? maybe epic? No worries. Among the selected books you’ll find options for all tastes.

5 Bestselling fantasy book sagas in 2023

If you’re not yet a fan of fantasy literature sagas, here are five recommendations to get you started. And, if you’re a devourer of books in the genre, here we bring you the titles of five fantasy sagas….to jog your memory.

1- The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

Originally intended by its author, J. R. R. R. Tolkien, as a continuation of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings eventually became a stand-alone story. In 1999 The Lord of the Rings trilogy was chosen as “Book of the Millennium” by participants in an poll.

It all takes place in the sleepy, idyllic Shire. There, a young, beardless Hobbit is tasked with protecting the One Ring. His mission is to travel to the Rifts of Doom and destroy it.

In order to fulfill his destiny, the young Hobbit sets out for Mordor in the company of Sam, Pippin and Merry.

Only with Aragorn’s help will the travelers manage to defeat the Black Riders and reach the refuge of the House of Elrond in Rivendell.

Buy Amazon

2- Forgotten Realms: Elminster by Ed Greenwood

Forgotten Realms Elminster by Ed Greenwood

The time of the great elven city of Cormanthor has come. The Midlands, home of the barbarians, terrifying dragon masters of the skies, lead the elven people to trust no one.

It is then that Elminster arrives in Cormanthor, where Eltargrim was sovereign. 

There he lived for more than twelve summers, studying with many powerful wizards, learning to feel magic and to direct it and submit it to his will.

3- The Death’s Door Cycle by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

The Death's Door Cycle by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

The Death Gate Cycle is a series of seven fantasy novels written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. The story takes place in a future age, which is composed of four worlds created by the powerful Sartans by separating Earth from the Old World.

The Sartans decided to separate the world due to the growing fear that the Patryn, their ancestral enemies, would take control of the world and its inhabitants, the Mensch (elves, dwarves and humans). The Sartan also created the Labyrinth, a lethal prison for the patryn.

4- Dragonlance by Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman and other authors

Dragonlance by Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman and other authors

The War of the Lance is over. The Darkness has vanished. It is then that Raistlin will begin his quest to try to overcome the power of The Queen of Darkness. To do so, he will have to bring about the return of the darkness.

Only two people will be able to stop Raistlin from achieving his goal: Crysania, beautiful priestess and Venerable Daughter of Paladine, and Caramon, Raistlin’s twin brother.

Both of them, accompanied by the kender Tas, travel to the past to stop plans that could end the world of Krynn.

5- Chronicles of Belgarath by David Eddings


We are in a world still young, in which seven gods reign on a planet still at peace. However, as is almost always the case, there was an element of discord: the god Aldur preferred solitude.

One day, the young Belgarath approached Aldur. He wanted Aldur to teach him the arts of magic, to which Aldur agreed.

When Aldur decides to turn a simple stone into a jewel, the envy of his brother, the god Torak, is aroused. This god tries to steal the stone (The Orb). This act provokes the beginning of a cruel war. The Orb, whose spirit did not want to be dominated, almost destroyed the god Torak forcing him to retreat and hide it as a source of threat to the incipient humanity.

After the war, the rest of the gods decided to leave the world, waiting for a more propitious moment to return.

Since that time, the jewel (The Orb) has remained in the custody of the Riva lineage. However, now, thousands of years after all that, all the signs seem clear and the whole planet will have to face the worst of fates.